My Go-To Recipes

We love food in this house hold, as you can see my son just having a ball eating and smearing it all over his face!

But staying in shape isn’t all about the right work out. It is also about what you eat. And you certainly cannot work off bad nutrition especially as you get older. Now I am not saying ban all bad food from your diet because you can definitely treat yourself every now and then. However, having dessert every night because you had a good work out that day can hurt your progress. But healthy food doesn’t have to be boring and bland. And you don’t have to spend hours trying to make it either.

I don’t have a story for each favorite go-to recipe and they aren’t long at all so I am just going to get right to it!


Breakfast

My absolute FAVORITE meal of the day. You can go savory or sweet and it still be awesome.

Chocolate Peanut Butter Oatmeal

This recipe never gets old for me. Its yummy, its simple, its filling and there are infinite ways you can make it your own.

  • ½ cup (dry) of old fashioned rolled oats
  • 1-2 Tbsp peanut butter (depends on how much peanut butter you want)
  • 2 Tbsp of either honey or maple syrup – if you don’t want the extra calories, I use Walden Farms zero calorie pancake syrup.
  • 1 Scoop Chocolate Protein Powder. I have listed a few of my favorite proteins below.
    • FNX Chocolate Malt Whey Protein (Use code KOFITNESS to get 15% off)
    • Redcon 1 Smores MRE Light Protein
    • Dymatize ISOPure Chocolate Protein

 

There really is not secret to this recipe. You can top it with Raspberries, strawberries, banana, use less oats, or more oats, use almond butter, or even change up the flavor of protein!


Sweet Potato Hash

If you are looking for a savory well balanced breakfast, this one is for you!

 

  • 2 eggs (you can either have it sunny side up – my favorite or scrambled)
  • ½ bell pepper – chopped and sautéed
  • ¼ Onion – chopped and sautéed
  • ½ Sweet potato or Regular potato – chopped and baked @ 415 degrees for about 15-20 minutes

This one you literally make them all and just throw it in bowl and eat it!

The one thing I LOVE about this hash is that you can add anything you want in it like spinach, or mushrooms. Want more protein? Add another egg, or egg whites, bacon, sausage or even chicken! This is a family favorite for sure and I hope you enjoy too!


Lunch/Dinner

Something I look forward to literally 5 minutes after I finish breakfast.

Taco Bowl

I love Mexican food and if I can find a healthier version of it, count me in!

  • ¼ pound of your choice of meat! I typically do ground beef or ground turkey however this bowl can have so many different versions of it that you can fit it to your needs.
  • Chopped and grilled or sautéed ¼ bell pepper and ¼ onion.
  • 2 hand fulls of lettuce or spinach.
  • ¼ can of black beans
  • ¼ of a medium avocado
  • ¼ cup or brown rice
  • Top it off with your favorite salsa

You can add tomatoes or corn, if you wish or swap out the rice for quinoa. Take any of the ingredients outs or add more or less of any of them. The beauty in this bowl is that you can make some changes to it and have a completely different bowl each week!


Chicken “Fried” Rice

If you haven’t noticed by now, I love hodgepodge meals. Where you can just throw everything in a bowl, mix it all together and enjoy.

Again, there are a lot of different ways you can play this out.

If you want the carbs, keep the rice whether it be white, brown, or jasmine rice.

If you don’t want the carbs, cauliflower rice is a great substitute or even chopped lettuce if you want more of a stir fry.

  • ¼ pound of Chicken or Shrimp, if you prefer shrimp “fried” rice
  • ½ cup of mixed vegetables. (Corn, Carrots and Peas)
  • ¼ or ½ cup of Rice depending on how many carbs you want. 1 serving is ¼ cup of rice. I know, its not a lot and you are probably thinking you have been overeating on that rice! But its ok, odds are you need more than one serving.
  • If you choose cauliflower rice, I would add 1 cup.
  • 2 Cups lettuce if you decide to go that route.
  • Lite Soy Sauce if you want to give it more flavor.
  • You can add any seasonings you want as well!

Snacks

I LOVE snacking and this is also my biggest downfall but I am a big believer in eating small meals throughout the day so I have listed a few that could act as a small meal.

Peanut Butter and Coconut Energy Balls

I have a whole bog post of this tasty snack with directions and everything on it! This is my absolute favorite snack in the world. If I have a sweet tooth I make a smaller version of it and don’t even bother putting it into little balls, I just eat it straight from the bowl. There are so many substitutes you can make with this recipe that you can have 5 different versions of it.

  • 1 Cup dried old fashioned oats
  • 2/3 Cup shredded coconut (substitute for ground flax seed if you do not like coconut)
  • 1/3 Cup raw all natural honey
  • ½ Cup all natural peanut butter (can substitute for another nut butter if desired)
  • 1 Tbsp chia seeds
  • ¼ Cup mini dark chocolate chips
  • Can add chopped nuts or raisins as well!
  • Makes about 24 spoon full balls.
  • The key to this is try not to eat all of them at once!

Veggies and Hummus

Now I know what you are thinking. This is a typical healthy snack but let me tell you, I can eat the shit out of some hummus. For portion control, they sell little mini single portions that are awesome if you are bringing your own food to work.

Veggies to go with the hummus:

  • Carrots
  • Celery – not a huge fan but will still eat it.
  • Cucumber
  • Bell Pepper
  • Zucchini

I love Naan bread so I will typically have that with hummus as well AND they sell little mini Naan bread for portion control as well! To add protein, I will make chicken and dip that into the hummus as well. It sounds weird but it is soooo good!


Greek Yogurt with Honey and Peanut Butter

If you haven’t noticed by now, I LOVE peanut butter. I literally can’t live without it. If I am ever upset or sick or something, peanut butter ALWAYS makes me feel better.

  • 1 Cup 0% Greek Yogurt – this is a great source of protein for anyone that doesn’t like meat. I like the 0% because its low carb and no fat. You don’t have the extra additives in it.
  • 2 Tbsp All Natural Honey – great natural sweetener or Pure Maple Syrup
  • 1-2 Tbsp All Natural Peanut Butter or any nut butter of your choice!
  • Optional – dash of cinnamon
  • Add dark chocolate chips to make it more of a dessert
  • Put on top of a rice cake for more carbs
  • Make it kid friendly and they can dip graham crackers in it!

Chicken Avocado Salad

This one can be a meal or a snack! Make it a sandwich, dip crackers in it or eat if by the spoonful. Whichever you choose!

Makes 4 servings

  • lb Shredded Chicken
  • Chopped Avocados
  • ½ Cup 0% Greek Yogurt
  • 1 Chopped Onion – I use purple or sweet onion
  • Celery Stalks Chopped
  • Juice of 1 Lime
  • Salt and Pepper to taste
  • Garlic Powder to taste

Optional

  • 1 Chopped Bell Pepper
  • Cilantro
  • Bacon
  • 1 Chopped Tomato

 

I hope you enjoys these recipes as much as I do!!

 


Leave a comment